#FlashBackFriday: Our Baby Sprinkle

A baby sprinkle… a small baby shower! How brilliant! I take no credit for coining this term; I whole heartedly stole it from the ever fabulous and fellow momma-to-be Eva Chen, Editor-in-Chief of Lucky Magazine

My darling DH organized a small get together with the very small circle we have built for ourselves here in New York City, it was such a lovely gesture as I’m not very good at wanting to organize these types things but in true White Knight style, he understood the importance of these type of celebrations and insisted we held something…small and lovely.

And small and lovely it was!

Even though we were a small group and we were at a restaurant, I wasn’t going to let that stop me from some festivities.

I put together a small and easy games booklet to keep us occupied while we would were waiting for our table, it’s The Boathouse, there was bound to be a wait for our table.

I kept the theme with our baby announcement to our parents and the baby shower invite itself to tie it altogether. I picked games that would be easy to play while we were all sitting so I chose to play, “ Guess the Gestation days of animals”, “The Price is Right”, “Can’t say the word ‘Baby’”, and my favorite, the “String Game” where everyone takes a guess at the size of my belly. There was also “Guess the chocolate in the diaper” but I completely forgot to actually prepare the diapers and DH ate one of the three chocolates that were to be used!

I also put together gender themed prizes, Pink Essie nail polish for the ladies and whisky for the men. I also bought some delicious doughseeds from Doughnut Plant as thank yous for everyone and they were a definite hit!

It was a beautiful Fall day and we were lucky enough to be seated at a window table at The Boathouse that framed the Pond and the park so artistically, it was hard not to look out of the windows and stare.

I had such lovely morning with my friends, laughing and playing these silly games, it was informal and relaxed and I’m grateful that I was able to celebrate this upcoming adventure in our lives and not let it pass us by, simply because we were away from home. Right now, New York is our home and I truly love it here.

Leave a Reply

