Birthday Celebrations

Happy Birthday

I celebrated my birthday a couple of weeks ago and I’ve always been very anxious when it comes to organizing anything. This year I wanted to get away, be on a beach, sing happy birthday and blow out my candles on a mini cake. But enter my amazingly, adoring husband and this year and every year, he simply amazes me in celebrating me.

My Birthday

I started off my day with the ultimate gesture from my DH. He got up super early to prepare for me a lovely breakfast in bed that was accompanied by the biggest bouquet of flowers and my first gift for the day which was sent from his family. I say ultimate because my DH is not, in any way, a morning person, and for him to get up, change, head out for supplies and prepare breakfast for me is something for the history books because you don’t understand how much of non morning person he is! So that alone was heart melting to me. I tell you it’s the small things he does that means the world to me!

Birthday celebrations

Happy Birthday

Only a geek would be thrilled to receive this as a birthday present! I squealed in delight when I opened this lovely gift from my family-in-laws! I’ve been wanting one of these for years!

I did have to go to my 9-5 on my birthday and I’m so glad I did as my favoritest person in the whole world sent me some beautiful flowers to my desk, I also had a lot of colleague come by to say happy birthday which was sweet of them. I got more flowers when I got home sent from my awesome brother! Basically my house was filled with beautiful flower arrangements and I couldn’t be happier.

Birthday celebrations

Gorgeous flowers sent from my lovely brother

Gorgeous flowers sent from my lovely brother

My birthday coincided with our friend’s visiting, so the get away had to be postponed for a week later, so we could spend time with people we haven’t seen in over a year, which I’m so glad we did. I also share my birthday with said visiting friend so it was even more fun that I get to share the celebrations with him.

Me and my Birthday Buddy!

Me and my Birthday Buddy!

As our birthday fell on a school night, we had organized a dinner and a couple of drinks and then have a party that Saturday. For the dinner venue, we scoured New York City for the perfect venue. I wanted something, nice, fun and casual but not too casual. And eventually we found Toro in the Meatpacking District.

My Birthday My Birthday

I’m more about the venue and atmosphere than I am about the food, don’t get me wrong, the food always has to be good, but I do like to look at pretty things. At first I thought it might be a little to man-ly and industrial, but it got great reviews and once we arrived there, the atmosphere was perfect, even for a Wednesday night. We ordered our tapas selection to share amongst us and a paella to share. The paella was divine, the tapas we ordered were good but I just wish there was more of it and I do wished there were more meat options, but that was due to us not actually picking the items, and leaving it to the waiter to select the house favorites.

Birthday celebrations

My Birthday

wpid-dsc07984_1.jpg

We ended the night with a night cap (and a soda water for me) at Revel in the Meatpacking district. I’m glad we came here as it was more the vibe I was looking for, so greeny stuff on walls, mood lighting and just a general coolness in the air.

This gorgeous rose needed to be the centerpiece of the huge bouquet DH presented me. Simply beautiful

This gorgeous rose needed to be the centerpiece of the huge bouquet DH presented me. Simply beautiful!

It was honestly a great way to celebrate my birthday, great friends, great food, and a perfect city!

Here’s until next year!

My Birthday

Leave a Reply

