Sunday Funday’s

Chelsea Piers and Highline 24 August 20143We took a lazy Sunday afternoon to hit the driving range at Chelsea Piers. I bought a voucher online that included a $25 ball card and rental of one club for $15! Bargain I say! I really love finding discount vouchers for adventures I like to take anyway. I feel like I’m cheating the system! WOO me! 

Sunday Funday

⇑ Denim Jacket: Gap. Shorts: Maternity Shorts from Old Navy. Top: Basic white tank from Supre

⇑ Denim Jacket: Gap. Shorts: Maternity Shorts from Old Navy. Top: Basic white tank from Supre

Chelsea Piers and Highline 24 August 20144I’m a total novice, I know I’m not any good, I just like hitting the ball. My goal is usually just to hit the ball in the first place and to hit it straight, which don’t necessarily happen simultaneously, really just luck of the draw. But today, today was different, I was kicking a$$! and I totally kicked DH’s a$$ today. You see, DH is much more sportier than I am, he is like a fish to water on almost everything and so I take much pleasure in being better at things whenever the occasion arises. Which was today. Double WOO Me! As you can see, I’m not a gracious winner. 

Sunday FundayAfter the excitement of the driving range, we took a walk along The Highline and aimed to get to the very end, as we usually have to drop off midway, usually due to rain or something and we when we hit the point that we usually turn back at, DH said to me “I feel like we’re heading into Mordor, lands we’ve never ventured into before”. It was a big moment for us! 

Chelsea Piers and Highline 24 August 20146 Chelsea Piers and Highline 24 August 20145The Highline is such an oasis, and I’m so pleased they made such a great space out of nothing. Living in the city, I find that I’m on a constant search for nature, when there’s a patch of grass somewhere, I immediately take my shoes off and walk my tooties through the grass, and I’m hyper sensitive to the tweetings of birds. I’m not sure why, but I literally stop and just listen. The other things to listen out for? People’s random conversation, the Highline is arrow and crowded, so it’s not hard to hear snippets of people’s conversations, one liners that, as outsiders, are taken totally out of context and are totally hilarious!Chelsea Piers and Highline 24 August 20147 Sunday FundaySunday FundayWe got to the end of the line, we were very please with ourselves! Mission accomplished! Stood there for a little while and we could see the extension and it seems to a pier that extends into the Hudson and looks like they’ve opened up the space, very excited to explore that section once it opens up. If you ever get the chance to visit this wonderful space, please do so, look past the crowds and enjoy the oasis.

⇑ We went to our local Vietnamese Restaurant after our walk. Love this place!

⇑ We went to our local Vietnamese Restaurant after our walk. Love this place!

Sunday FundayIt was a lovely, laid back weekend in New York and as usual, I will await for next weekend!

What did you get up to this past weekend? Have any tips for NYC on where we should take our next adventures?

 

 

Leave a Reply

