Geeking Out at The Met and its Rooftop

Summer in New York is a mix of wanting to get out and about and trying to stay out of the searing heat and humidity. Sunday wasn’t any different.
 
We were meant to hit a beach this weekend, but the looming clouds and threats of thunderstorms kept us in Manhattan. DH suggested The Met, which I promptly agreed to as I’d been wanting to check out the Rooftop they open over the summer, and it did not disappoint

I’m lucky that I have complimentary access to The Museum of Metropolitan Art as perk of my 9-5. So we’ve visited the Met multiple times now, taking small pieces of it in at a time, not exhausting ourselves. The marvelous thing about the Met, no matter how many times you visit, you always wander into a section of the museum that you didn’t know was there. 
 
First stop was the rooftop. There’s nothing more we love than a meal on a rooftop with sweeping views of Central Park and the Manhattan skyline. But this rooftop was special. There’s currently an oasis of an installation by Dan Graham, and without taking away from his piece, it’s a grassy wonderland, with a spongy ‘grass’ floor with ivy covered hedges and curved glass installation that is really hard to explain, so I’ll let the photos explain. This is a rooftop that must be enjoyed and a definite return is a must in the fall when the fire of Central Park comes alive! Check it out if you can.
Having too much fun with our reflections

Having too much fun with our reflections

 

Having too much fun with the faux grass and hedge

Having too much fun with the faux grass and hedge

 

Me and my Bump enjoying the view!

Me and my Bump enjoying the view!

I love me a rooftop view of The City

I love me a rooftop view of The City

Dress is Forever 21

Dress is Forever 21

DB loves The Met as he gets to indulge in his love for artifacts and ancient history, statues, helms, swords and carvings. For me, not so much, I simply don’t get it, yes, it’s full of history; yes, it’s how they lived; but for me, it’s more like, OK, cool, now what?

But today, today was special. Because for me, I love art, I think it’s something my high school art teacher instilled in me, her love and passion when she taught always captured my imagination and without realising it, made me an art lover.
I love the works of the great artists, from Frida Kahlo (my favorite), Gustav Klimt, Picasso, and Matisse and oh my! In our multiple wanderings of the Met, I never knew this museum housed such great works of art, and when we stumbled on them…My inner art geek came bounding out and it was like my text books came alive! To see these pieces on canvas was mind blowing. Bless my DH, he doesn’t get art like I don’t get artifacts, but he was still amazed by some of the works (He really doesn’t get Picasso).
 

My reaction to every single painting in this amazing museum!

My reaction to every single painting in this amazing museum!

I could stare at these artworks all day!

I could stare at these artworks all day!

What a marvelous city we live in where we have access to the greatest artists in history all a short subway ride a way!

 

One thought on “Geeking Out at The Met and its Rooftop

  1. Pingback: Maternity Style: What I Wore – on Holiday | La Dolce Viva

Leave a Reply

